Dodd-Frank: We (the people) need help
I graduated high school. I did. I have the diploma. It's true that on the day of graduation I had about a 5th grade education. Blame? Yeah, the schools a bit, but mostly Wonky's piss poor attitude and lack of a good strong hand of direction and discipline. 
Then I started reading. I still don't know much. Folks who have followed my posts here will attest to this. So far behind, I didn't make any attempt at math or science, but in early adulthood started a reading list of things adults should know. I mismanaged the early adult years and college was not an option. (I may not have had the "stuff" to do there well anyway). I've learned some things of value, but now in advanced age fully understand all that I don't know and never will.

Sorry to bore you, but need to make a point. 

I hope to understand the basic moves and policy decisions my government makes. Be it the local school board or the federal government. So, I do my best to stay informed, following news reports and often depending of pundits to parse the texts difficult for me to understand. 

I'm lost. 

An editorial in todays (2/4) NYT suggests Dodd-Frank roll-back is a Poison Pill For Recovery.

https://www.nytimes.com/2017/02/03/opini...eft-region

The WSJ says "After fivr years, Dodd-Frank is a failure. 
https://www.wsj.com/articles/after-five-...1437342607
(Note: The WSJ will allow us only a glimpse of the editorial if we don't subscribe) 

Both are good newspapers, albeit with different political attitudes, but still, legacy news organizations with paid investigative journalists and long traditions of providing editorial content respected around the globe. Most people in responsible positions, be it government, business, education, labor, or whatever, have these papers on their desks each morning.