What Read Did You Most Enjoy This Year?
(10-12-2013, 06:31 PM)csrowan Wrote:
(10-12-2013, 06:20 PM)Larry Wrote:
(10-12-2013, 06:17 PM)csrowan Wrote:
(10-12-2013, 06:12 PM)Larry Wrote:
(10-12-2013, 05:32 PM)csrowan Wrote: I did. Loved it.

EDIT: Although...

I have to say that although I appreciate Heinlein as an author, I can't stand him as a human being. And while my political views obviously differ, I particularly take offense at his chauvinism.

And while I read everything he wrote, I am more appalled at his obvious predilection for incest.

Meh. He also took care to explain the genetic problems with it, everything was consensual, and it was fiction.

Look at it this way. If Little Tommy grows up, gets a vasectomy, and meets a girl, falls in love with her, marries her, then finds out that she's his long lost sister, is there anything morally wrong in what they've done?

But that is NOT his belief. Re-read "To Sail Beyond the Sunset". Mama Maureen had the hots for her daddy AND her son, and EVERYTHING else in his fantasy world revolves around that.

But, when Lazarus ended up buying the twin slaves (who ended up being his descendants, I think), he explained genetics to them with a deck of cards (which he stacked) when their children started playing around. He didn't want them having kids together.

Yes, there's a lot of incest. But most of it is in Laz's family, and Lazarus has a very odd genetic code. He may even be his own father. The Howard Families weren't supposed to get anything like him for many generations, and he was only the second or third generation, I think.

But ultimately, everything was consensual, and it was fiction.